Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tlbean2004

When will the leaf cuttings send out new growth?

tlbean2004
9 years ago

I potted up 4 leafs in 4 small pots. Actually they are in little plastic cups that hold about a 5 cup of water. very small.
Anyway, i planted the leaves in soil about 6 or more weeks ago. Three of the leaves are still green and standing erect so i assume they are still alive. but i have not gotten any new growth coming from the soil. How long should this take?
Im new to this.
Is there a way to test if the leaves have rooted?
The plastic cups they are in are clear. I guess when i get home i will look at the bottom to see if there are any roots forming!
Im getting impatient here......

Comments (37)

• aegis1000
    9 years ago

It can take anywhere from a few months to a year to see plantlets, but it's usually a couple months.

Be patient ...

• lucky123
    9 years ago

When I started setting leaves, I was discouraged to read other posts stating 8 weeks because most of my leaves have taken up to 6 months to make mouse ears.
    Be very patient. If the leaf is crisp, leave it alone. It will either make a plantlet or rot but it may take a long, long time or not
    I have had leaves set in record time but they were leaves from my own plants. But then I had species leaves, S. Pendula, S Rupicola sent by a forum member which set as fast as my own leaves.
    It takes patience. Now I wonder what I am going to do with all these plants :)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

constant warmth of the media might be a challenge.. if your furnace kicks down at night ...

see in the morning.. if you media is cold to the touch ...

ken

• gardenbear1
    9 years ago

I start my leaves in water and when the roots are about 2 inches long I pot them up and then just wait for new growth it takes about 3 months before the send out new growth so patiences is the word for growing them.

• aegis1000
    9 years ago