Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sawboldt

Propagating leaves/soil question

sawboldt
9 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to raising African Violets and learning so much by reading through posts here. Wonderful, helpful information! My question is wondering if I should repot the leaves I set about three weeks ago because since I did that, I have read about mixing av soil with perlite. I planted with straight av soil and am wondering if it would disturb and hurt the leaves and babies if I replanted at this point. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (10)

• Karin
    9 years ago

Can't really say either way. I've done both. Repotted rooted leaves, and left them to grow in straight av mix.
    Come to think of it, It seems I had more luck rooting leaves when I didn't try too hard, just stuck them in some soil and watered whenever I remembered (every blue moon or so). But then, now I keep close watch and notice every "fail", back then, I'd shrug it off and just put down more leaves....

If you aren't likely to water them too much, then I'd leave them as they are. If you feel they are staying wet too much, or getting chilled, maybe a lighter mix would be a good idea.

Good luck :-)

Karin

• marty-1
    9 years ago

Hi Sawbolt,
    I basically agree w Karin; optimally the leaves should be domed. That increases the chance of rotting, but also promotes the new roots forming-hence the idea of using more perlite to decrease the likely hood of rotting. You may do fine the way you are-if u are doming then make sure not to overwater-I like the idea of removing dome for 24 hrs after watering. If you don't mind extra work, The best practice would be: 1. Dilute your African violet soil 1:1 with perlite 2. Use a teaspoon to remove leaf stem from present pot w intact wet soil around stem and drop in a hole in new soil 3. Dome leaf w plastic dome or Baggie.