Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowergirl70ks

Problem with mildew

flowergirl70ks
11 years ago

This is getting to be a real problem for me.I've been growing violets for over 50 years and have only had this happen the last 2 years.Looked at the FAQS and they say poor air circulation is the culprit. I'm at a loss here because if anything they have more air circulating now than ever.Change in temperature from summer to winter((we had no fall to speak of) is supposed to cause it too. I have my violet table in front of an east window. I have shades to lower in the morning so they don't get too much hot sun. As soon as I can, I raise the shades. Does anybody have any suggestions for me? This happened when the seasons changed last year at this time too.

Comments (14)

• cork_oh
    11 years ago

flowergirl
    Try using a fan, but not direct on your AV's. I keep my fans running 24-7.

Cork

• flowergirl70ks
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have a ceiling fan at the far end of the room, is that enough?

• irina_co
    11 years ago

Flowergirl - while the advice you were given are valid for the PM prevention - you already have an infection, so lets think how to stop it.

If you have just a beginning of it - you can use neem oil - they sell 3-in-1 spray where neem oil is a fungicide-miticide-pesticide. Since it is not poisonous to humans and animals - you can spray your plants every 3 days - oir at least once a week. You can remove the older leaves and blossoms if they are already covered with PM. The less fungus you have - the sooner you get rid of it.

If the PM fungus took over the leaf - there not very much you can do, it is already inside the tissue. (There is some stuff - but it will be poisonous and expensive).