Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momiji_gw

How do I save my AV?

momiji
10 years ago

Can anyone tell me what's wrong with my AV and how to save it ?

Comments (7)

• Karin
    10 years ago

Can you give us some mor info on how you keep it?
    Light (artificial / natural, north / south window etc)
    Water (do you keep it moist, or let it dry between watering etc)
    Soil (light / dense, retains lots of water / dries fast?) & when it was last repotted
    What kind of temperatures have you been having?
    Do you fertilize? How?
    Are the leaves floppy or crisp?

I am no expert, but I've killed most my av's (I mean the ones I lost) with watering too much, or letting them get too cold. Most other issues don't seem to result in as permanent a demise as quickly...

Karin

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

More info is definitely needed but just a wild guess-it looks as though the care has been irregular as far as watering goes. And the pot is very much too big. But as Karin says, we need more clues.

Linda

• momiji
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi here are some mor info on how i keep it?

Light (artificial / natural, north / south window etc)

Light from bathroom window , facing south ( I think $

Water (do you keep it moist, or let it dry between watering etc)
    It starts to deteorarate after my 3 weeks holiday , which I let the pot
    Sit in another pot of water . I used to water from the top
    But I kept seeing my leaves darkened from the side .
    I thought I must have over watered . Hence I started the bottom
    Watering method

Soil (light / dense, retains lots of water / dries fast?) & when it was last repotted
    I never repot my AV. I bought it from florist and I'm not
    Sure if the soil type . I can't see perlite in them.
    I normally touch the surface of my soil before I water them.
    I use to water twice a week when watering from the top .