Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tammypie

Self-watering pots

tammypie
19 years ago

They are selling at Lowe's self-watering pots for $7.98 each. They are very pretty.

My question is - I have several AV's that I just grow in plastic pots with drainiage holes. I have never used self-watering AV pots before.

Does that mean I have to repot them sooner?

thanks, Tammy

Comments (14)

• robitaillenancy1
    19 years ago

I would be afraid of the plants overwatering themselves with self watering pots. I have never used them, so I don't know. And if the plants become overwatered often, you would have to repot more often to prevent root rot.

Nancy

• scryn
    19 years ago

When you use self-watering pots, it is important to lighten up your soil mix by adding more perlite. The mix should be light and not stick together if you sqeeze it when moist. If you wick water then the mix you already use for this should be fine for selfwatering pots. Commerically made "african violet" soil (in the bags at garden stores) is much to heavy for these types of pots, so remember to add peat moss and perlite to these mixes if you want to wick water or put in these planters.
    I do use some selfwatering pots, especially for my miniature violets.
    I find they the violets do much better as they always have water and nutriets and therefore yes, they grow faster and you will have to repot them sooner. However this is not a bother for me as my plants look so much healthier and bloom more often when they have a constant source of water.

-Renee

• tammypie
    Original Author
    19 years ago

So I can use the 1:1:1 ratio of PM-P-V, or can I just use AV potting mix, with more Perlite and Vermiculte added?

I always used the 3:1 mixture. Does it really matter either way, just add more Perlite to the AV potting mix?

• ryanferre
    19 years ago