Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamabelle33

WANTED: Newbie!! Help!!!!

bamabelle33
17 years ago

Hiii all new to Gardenweb and Alabama Exchange. This is really a great idea, not only am I new to the site I am new to gardening also. 20 years old and in my first home of my own,well my boyfriend and my own. Anyways I have a fairly large back yard with one tree(plz dont ask what kind)lol y cute lil 2nd level screened in porch with lots of shady space under it with LOTS of potential, anyways our front is all grass except for bordering the house and there is 5 or 6 crepe myrtles(never pruned btw and out of control) and lots of shrubs and bushes and Stones(rocks) and I also have a small side oval space with nothing in it. NOTHING I am dying to do something with all this and I tend to love love love BIG colorful blooms. I am as lost as a polar bear in the amazon though. Keep in mind I am in a stuffy affluent ritzy neighboorhood that has no color just Uniform shrubs, grass and a few crepe myrtles here and there. I have 4 hosta's in the back by the steps and a peace lily inside HELPPPPP BTW I have checked out a few of your personal sites and your gardens are ALL breathtaking

Kalyn

Comments (6)

• pfllh
    17 years ago

Hi, Kalyn. First we need to know what zone you are in that we can determine what would be hardy. Then, are the areas you want to plant full sun, part sun, filtered light or shade during the day.
    Are you interested in flowers, shrubs or trees? Take a good look at the yard and lay out what you'd like and where. What kind of soil do you have?
    When we recommend plants, we want to help not make a mess for you! :O)
    We have a plant swap in the spring and in the fall. You do not have to just trade plants. I for one am looking for rocks. Some need pots, even the black ones plants come in. People trade a bag of compost, manure, potting soil, etc People homeschool so can use school supplies or items for the children.
    Lynn

• bamabelle33