Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
totalnoob

Raised Bed Garden, Need Help

totalnoob
15 years ago

Hi. I am interested in planting my first vegetable garden this spring. I would like to build a raised bed garden out on some property I own out of old railroad ties. My garden size is limited only by my budget. I am a total beginner and would like any tips or advice anyone would like to give. I plan to plant the garden down from a pond on my property so I will be able to irrigate. I need advice on how much shade to give my garden, how to plan it out, what to plant. Literally I need help creating this garden from the ground up. I want a nice garden with chicken wire to protect it from the birds. All tips and ideas appreciated. Thanks

Comments (10)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    15 years ago

First steps first: old railroad ties are not recommended for use, especially in a garden that may contain edibles. I know, I know.....we see it done all the time, but that still doesn't change the fact that creosote is highly toxic.

Give us some more information, noobie! ;-) Are you wanting to plant a veggie garden or a flower garden? Aren't you lucky to have a pond handy!

• totalnoob
    Original Author
    15 years ago