Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snickerfritzed

What roses are you planting this spring?

snickerfritzed
15 years ago

I am new to gardening. Began last spring after a stroll through Bennette's Nursery in Huntsville...bought my first rose, Bishop's Castle (an Austin that smells wonderful) and that was all she wrote. Been addicted ever since. Planted 19 roses last spring/summer. I have ordered 29 for this spring. None of my friends garden, they all think I am crazy..so I was curious about which roses are doing the best in the North Alabama area in your gardens?

Comments (8)

• User
    15 years ago

Don't know about north Alabama, having only been born in Haleyville and spent summers there with my cousins, then moved south to Mobile. But I do unnderstand your fascination with roses.

This year, I am putting in the ground two Zepherine Drouhans that I bought last summer. They will go on the newly constructed arbor that marks the entry to our back yard. And I have a white Lady Banks also going in the ground close to these pillar types. All of my roses are due to be moved from the bed in the center of a circular drive, so I can line them up more on the property border.

My son's favorite is the Don Juan, very fragrant and a dark blood red. I also love the Iceburg, Just Joey, and Joseph's Coat. For a tall rose, try Queen Elizabeth. If you can find Felder Rushing's book, TOUGH PLANTS FOR TOUGH PLACES, he lists the hardiest toughest roses which are his favorites. You might find the rest of his book interesting also.

• cottagegirl_tn
    15 years ago

Whatever I can get my hands on! LOL. I got bit by the rose bug last year when I discovered the old garden roses. I propagated quite a few from old cemeteries using a simple mist system. I live in TN but work in Florence AL. Do you live anywhere near there? I'd be glad to share. I want to get my hands on the new yellow knockout for sure.
    Jen

• snickerfritzed
    Original Author
    15 years ago