Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chelsea_gardener

Do all types of Roses grow in Alabama?

chelsea_gardener
18 years ago

We're getting ready to move to Alabama I love growing roses and lavender . Do they grow well in Alabama? Are certain types better to grow than others? I'm just thinking that the warm, humid summers probably contribute to lots of powdery mildew.

Do any of you grow roses and have any advice?

Terry in Hawaii

Comments (6)

• sav2005
    18 years ago

I live in Georgia and am also moving to Alabama (Birmingham) next month where I am originally from. The climate in Atlanta is almost identical to most of Alabama unless you are moving to South AL were the biggest difference is hotter and more humidity in the summer down south.

I have just started growing roses so I'm not an expert by any means. So, for what it's worth this has been my experience. I do get dark mildew spots and this is what you have to do to control. Water early in the morning by the soaker method making sure to keep leaves dry. When you do see spots, cut the infected area immediately making sure that your shears have been sterilized after each cut. Do not leave any fallen leaves or cut stems on the ground. As soon as you see or cut any, discard as far away from the bushes as possible. This helps, but it is hard to control, at least for me. Other more experienced growers may have better methods. I also spray with fungicides and use systemic granules with minimum success.