Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desirai_gw

newbie questions about hardiness

Desirai
11 years ago

hello. i am new to gardening. i started in the winter of 2011 by growing things like peppers in pots in my living room.

i have questions about the hardiness of some plants that im new to.

will dahlias and gladiolus come back every year? also will amaryllis bulbs come back every year. i have 5 amaryllis in a pot they did not bloom last year at all and i left them in the pot on my porch all winter.

also will daylilies come back or do i have to replace them as well?

also what zone am i in, i live in gadsden alabama some maps say 7 some say 8.

i am texting on my phone sorry for the typing.

Comments (12)

• louisianagal
    11 years ago

I'm can't get to a map from this link (stupid new computer program) but Birmingham would be zone 7. Mobile zone 8. I'm in Tupelo MS zone 7 and Jackson MS would be zone 8.
    My understanding is that dahlias need to be dug up and stored for the winter. They are not hardy. Now having said that there are many variables. You might have a milder winter. You might be on the border of 2 zones. You might have them planted in a microclimate (area that is warmer than most of your property), you might have a dahlia variety that is more cold hardy than most. But you would be taking a chance leaving them out. They might also rot. Gladiolus can be left in the ground. Mine do fine. There are different varieties of amaryllis. The ones you order from catalogs or buy the bulbs at the garden center will do fine in the ground but the ones you grow at Christmas time are sort of florist varieties and don't always survive but I always put mine in the ground at the end of the holidays. Daylillies will come back. Welcome.
    Laurie in Mississippi

• catbird
    11 years ago