Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
armyaviator

Clearing for a garden......help. :)

armyaviator
18 years ago

New member. :) I want to start a garden out near my barn. The ground there has never been anything other than pasture with a blend of fescue and bermuda. Can anyone recommend how best to start for a garden? Should I kill the intended area with RoundUp or some other non-select herbicide? Do you recommend a soil test? The ground appears healthy as the grass is magnificent there. I am concerned about regrowth of the grass, so what kind of mat or cover works best? I know...lotsa questions...but I am a military officer and want to spend some time home now...and am told that gardening is healthy in more ways than one. --Bryant.

Comments (5)

• scandia
    18 years ago

Bermuda Grass has roots that go 6 to 8 ft into the ground...that is why it is so drought tolerant.

Vegetable garden or flower garden??

What color is the soil and what is the sun exposure, does the barn drain onto that area when it rains?? If the barn does drain on the area does it flood? Can you grade it so it does not flood?

You can spray the area with Round Up and burn it after the grass is dead, which will stunt the bermuda for a bit..But the bermuda will come back..

You can cover it with plastic (with mulch on top) and then cut holes for the plants you want to plant. (after you till it) The bermuda may still come up through the holes in the plastic. You will have to wait for a few weeks to plant after you spray the round up.

If you are planning a vegetable garden then you should til it and amend it. What you amend it with will depend on the aeration of the soil and color of the soil. Does the soil feel soft when you walk on it?