Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biscuit97

Favorite Shurbs?

biscuit97
17 years ago

Regardless of the plant's needs, what is your all-time favorite shrub that you have grown successfully in Alabama? I have a few areas that need some shrubs and they range from full sun to full shade with everything in between and am looking for suggestions. I am very new to gardening and our house was basically a blank slate when it came to landscaping. I'd love to see what everyone's favorites are and then see if I can work any of them into my landscape. Thanks for taking the time to answer the question.

Comments (13)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

biscuit, just as a friendly suggestion... you ought to change your member title so that your climate zone appears at the top of all of your posts. Most people do that, I think, and it's VERY helpful for those of us who want to ponder and comment on your good questions.

Alabama is a VERY long, tall state and encompasses several climate zones.

It might be helpful, for this question, if we knew of a size limitation. Some shrubs take very well to heavy pruning, for example, while others end up looking butchered. My favorite shrub is almost anything that isn't carved into a wierd ball or a cube. ;-)

• biscuit97
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Rhizo, thanks for the suggestion. I'm really new to this so I had to look which zone I am in. Im in Birmingham, so I guess that is 7b. By the way, I like the natural look a lot more than things that are shaped into balls and squares. I have a neighbor that shapes all of their azaleas and it looks terrible. Thanks for any suggestions.

• jeff_al
    17 years ago

judging by what's in my landscape, i have more camellias, hydrangeas and japanese maple culitvars than any other woody plants. hostas would be at the top of my list for perennials.