Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phillip_in_alabama

Question about acuba

phillip_in_alabama
17 years ago

This is my first attempt at growing acuba. This was planted last spring and this is how it has looked for the past few months. Is this simply damage from the cold or do I have a disease problem? If it is indeed cold damage, can I prune it back or will the leaves revive themselves?

{{gwi:360256}}

Comments (10)

• loveofmylife680
    17 years ago

Mine look like that after a real cold night but always spring back up if it is warm later in the day. Hope this helps.
    Jill

• phillip_in_alabama
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks - the leaves on mine have actually stayed like this all winter. :(

• tweetypye
    17 years ago

Phillip, I'm a bit farther south than you (zone 8) just north of Montgomery. I've had acuba planted for years, and never seen mine look like that. Could it be because of the warmer zone? Although, we do have some very cold weather here. I really don't think its the cold. If it didn't start showing signs of improvement shortly, I'd seriously think about cutting it back. I prune mine when they get too large, and they grow like mad, with no problem. Wish I could be of more help. :)
    Jan

• terramadre
    17 years ago

Phillip,
    You may want to read up on

Here is a link that might be useful: Aucuba disease and disorders

• alabamajan
    17 years ago

Philip...I'm thinking that maybe the wilt on your Aucuba could be from a 'dry' root ball....Sometimes after transplanting if the rootbal has compacted soil around it, like maybe some hard clay or something, then it will actually REPEL water. I.e., it no longer absorbs it.