Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medievalchic007

Relocating to AL -New to gardens

medievalchic007
15 years ago

Hello everyone.

I am so glad I found this site. There is so much useful information here I am a bit overwhelmed. I know it'll all be helpful.

I moved to alabama from Pennsylvania. Up there our growing season is from about the middle of may or late may to beginning of september. So I am having a hard time adjusting to getting my thoughts in the right place at the right time.

Although I am new to gardening, my parents had a 1/2 acre garden when I was a kid and I grew up on a farm around farmers....

With that said-

I have planted some seeds in starters with my children. Veggies mostly but some melons too. I've seen mention of soil testing. Is it necessary to test it or can most of you just look at it to tell what is it needs? Up north most of our soil is topsoil.. dark brown to a middle color brown and very rich. I know here where I am the soil is more sandy with a touch of clay. Would it just benefit to til the sandy soil with some topsoil and fertilizer to begin with? Or is that not good for veggies?

I am sure that question probably shows how new I am..

Our seeds are 6 days old and 1/3 of them are sprouting. Most of them say I can plant them in this zone around april. Would planting them in two weeks or even three weeks when they are fully leafy be ok or too early?

Comments (12)

• ourhighlandhome
    15 years ago

Hi medievalchic!

I don't know 'nuthin 'bout raisin' no vegetables. One day it'll hit me that I could have been feeding myself and lowering my food bill by purchasing an occasional plant which could be eaten!

I do know that my soil varies - in the front yard it is mostly the horrible, gummy clay that is impossible to work with unless amendments are tilled in. More toward the back it gently slopes and improves, and where it levels is where all my "topsoil" ended up. It is a pleasure to dig back there!