Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzannelan

gardening newbie here

suzannelan
17 years ago

Hi, everyone. I don't know anything much about gardening. My 79-year-old m-i-l moved in with us last June. She loves gardening but hasn't done it in a long while, and she has never lived in this part of the country before, so neither of us knows what to plant and when.

I would like to start with something easy. Eventually I would like to plant a vegetable garden but I would like to start with flowers or whatever is easiest. She has bad arthritis in her knees, so my guess is that I will be doing most of the work. The only thing I ever did in the past was a) I once had a houseplant or two but they didn't last long, and b) when we sold our last house, my friend who knows a lot more about gardening helped me pick out some flowers at Home Depot and we planted them in the front yard to make the house look nicer. To me it was hellish, it hurt my knees and my back and I didn't much like digging in the dirt and worms. :) But I did learn later that there is a thing you can buy that will make a hole for you much easier, very quickly, so that should help. I know I will have to put up with all this if I want to get this going.

Money is not a problem. I am willing to buy whatever I need to make this easy as possible for both of us. I want to start brightening up the yard and making things look nice, and give my m-i-l some projects (I know she can probably water, at least).

We have a big yard all around our house. The back yard has a fence to keep the dog in. Anything back there would be subject to digging. There is one area that used to have flowers, it has a wooden-log thing around it, but now it is all weesds and a big bush (which is probably a big weed, too), and he is pretty good about not digging there. There are places to hang plants, too.