Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clueless_in_alabama

Container plant ideas for shade

Hi all,

I'm a beginner with flowers and am completely uncreative when coming up with ideas for filling containers. I have 2 large pots (13h x 16d) that I grew herbs in last year but this year decided to put on either side of our front door and fill with flowers. They're not beautiful pots: plastic terra cotta look, but I thought I'd try them out this year and if the experiment works I'd get something fancier for next year.

Anyway, can you-all give me ideas for what would like morning sun and then shade for the rest of the day? I'd like something tall (2-3 ft) then medium, then trailing over the edges. Our house is red brick, so I'd like something bright and contrasting like white, yellow, orange, and blue.

Thanks for your help! (Probably won't check for answers until after Easter, so Happy Easter and I'll talk to you later!)

Comments (10)

• tsmith2579
    14 years ago

Try some of the big leafed, light colored hostas.

• collinw
    14 years ago

There are any number of things that will grow in those conditions. When you say morning sun, how many hours are you talking about? Morning sun is the best sun in most cases, because it dries the dew on plants and is less harsh than late afternoon sun.

You might try coleus, if you want something easy to grow with colorful foliage. It comes in many striking colors and likes shade or sun. Pinch off the flower spikes for bushier, fuller plants.It will get about 2 ft tall depending on the variety.

Sweet potato vine is another easy plant that has striking foliage, dark purple or bright yellow-green that will trail over the edge of the pot.

But before I can really be helpful, I need to know exactly how much morning sun you have.

• catbird
    14 years ago