Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karen68_gardener

Move to Huntsville, AL

karen68-gardener
13 years ago

My husband and I are considering a move to Huntsville sometime this year. I was a Master Gardener in Chesterfield, VA (near Richmond) for several years and would be interested in taking the course in Huntsville and becoming a Master Gardener there. Although Richmond and Huntsville are both Zone 7, I'm sure there are many differences between them in gardening, and it would be a wonderful way to meet people there who love gardening. Is there a Master Gardener program in Huntsville?

Comments (9)

• dirtman16
    13 years ago

I'm relatively new to Huntsville myself, so I'm not sure about the Master Gardener program. However, the Botanical Gardens here hold regular educational classes.

Here is a link that might be useful: Huntsville Botanical Gardens Adult Courses

• engineeredgarden
    13 years ago

Yes, there is a MG program in the area. It is called Master Gardeners of North Alabama. I'm a member of the Shoals Master Gardener Chapter, and the program is excellent. To find out more about the MG program in Huntsville, call the extension office at Phone: (256) 532-1578

EG

• karen68-gardener
    Original Author
    13 years ago

We are moving to the Huntsville area --city of Madison--around Nov. 1, and I am looking forward to our new home and new friends there; also, being close to our grandchildren who already live there! I hope those new friends will include many gardening buddies!

• catbird
    13 years ago

Welcome to AL! Keep checking and posting here and plan to come to the Spring swap. If you'll be putting in a new garden, just come empty-handed and we'll send you home with with some things to start with. Also watch for the Etowah County MG plant sale in Gadsden in April. There'll be LOTS of perennials and shrubs for good prices and it's an easy drive from Huntsville.

Alice

• outsideplaying_gw
    13 years ago