Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
airydana

how-to root from a cutting...

airydana
14 years ago

Wondering the right method to root from cuttings from several different woody shrubs (gardenia, oakleaf hydrangea, pineapple guava).

I am new to propagating, and appreciate the advice. I do know how to root from softer plants in water, such as rosemary, but would like to start some cuttings now for the fall swap from some of my woodier shrubs.

Some additional questions would be:

what kinds of shrubs have y'all rooted from cuttings?

is there a general rule of thumb as to what can be propagated in water, versus plants that require the use of a soil medium?

How and when to use a rooting hormone?

Size of cutting to take?

When to take the cutting - after shrub has flowered?

Comments (18)

• jeff_al
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

hi dana,
    i saved this interesting post by nandina from several years ago. i think it was placed on the "southern gardening" forum.
    she posts more frequently on the landscape design forum and i always enjoy reading her informative and well-assembled replies. see how this works for you:

"Today is the first of June and the full moon will be on the 14th. It is during this time period that we in the south can root many plants easily in the following manner. Fill a large, wide pot with good planting soil, water it well and set it out in the full, all day sun. Now, make tip cuttings of plants you would like to root and stick them in the pot. In many cases rooting hormone is not necessary. Water the pot every day. Try rooting annuals, perennials and vines in this manner. You will be surprised at how quickly things root. Try Mandevilla, sages, hydrangeas, salvias, rosemary, pentas or whatever. It will take some trial and error on your part. Yes, some will not root and others will thrive. This technique works best when the cuttings are set to root during this two week period in June before the full moon. Give it a try.