Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tsmith2579

Future Plant Swap ??? Your Opinion, please!

tsmith2579
15 years ago

Todd (Tedevore) mentioned the "plant swap" he attended at Aldridge Botanical Gardens a couple of weeks ago. Would 'we' be interested in trying to arrange a future plant swap at ABG and coordinate our swap with their program? I could contact ABG, explain how we handle swaps and see if they are interested in hosting something similar. There would be details to work out but we could probably get a lot of new swappers and get some new stuff. The ABG has a free sign-up for their website where you can make comments, etc. I haven't fully explored the possibilities but I am still studying the website and comments. The very first step might be to invite Larry Quick the ABG director and Steve Bender of Southern Living to attend one of our swaps. I'm just throwing this out as an idea. What do you think?

Comments (19)

• roseyp8255
    15 years ago

sounds good to me - invite them to the next one! :)

• loveofmylife680
    15 years ago

Sounds great to me.
    Jill

• tedevore
    15 years ago

Sounds great to me. Here's a little about the format of their last "swap" and some thoughts about how ours would need to be different;

Steve Bender and Larry Quick were there, and maybe ten to twelve gardeners, most of them pretty new to gardening. The swap advertised to bring "one' favorite plant to share, and steve bender talked about the care of every plant, which was good for new people.

The few more experienced gardeners of course ignored the "rule' of one plant, and to the delight of the new people had a lot of divisions/babies to share, of some really nice plants. I think the people there had a lot of fun and would like our swap too. We could easily triple the size of this little aldridge swap.