Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda_ross8133

Hydrangeas advice needed

Linda Ross
15 years ago

I bought a southern cottage style house and want to plant hydrangeas with those lovely white heads in front. The area gets both sun and shade. Do I want to plant Annabelle, Snow Queen, Endless Summer or something else? I wanted something more showy than Oakleaf. I want a long blooming time and will they lose all their leaves in winter in Birmingham? Is there something I really need to know about planting them this fall? How close together to get that massive white blooming look? I'm not really interested in the blue/pink colors and would like to stay with white that gets that pink cast as they mature. Mollie

Comments (10)

• jeff_al
    15 years ago

hi mollie
    just a couple of comments relating to your questions:
    'snow queen' is an oakleaf hydrangea.
    'endless summer' is either pink or blue but not white-flowered.
    i have no experience with 'annabelle' but know it is hydrangea arborescens which blooms on new wood. of the ones you mention, it would likely be the best candidate for a hedge.
    all of these hydrangeas are deciduous and will not hold green foliage over winter so you will have bare sticks during the dormant season.
    in my opinion, none are as showy as our native oakleafs when you consider the fall foliage colors (often brilliant shades of red), layered growth habit, flaking bark and persistent flowerheads. there are some cultivars of it that should remain smaller if space is an issue.
    you can check out the site below for images of various species of hydrangea as well as size and site requirements.
    spacing of the shrubs will depend on the culitvar and its projected size.
    hope this helps.

Here is a link that might be useful: site link

• lsmcw
    15 years ago