Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dnr24

Mistakes Made - Let's Share

dnr24
13 years ago

Someone posted a "Stupid Plant Placement" thread recently about planting some irises too close to some shrubs. I'm new to gardening and have been doing lots of reading. One common piece of advice I read is that all gardeners make mistakes; learn from them. Well, seeing as there are lots of gardeners here, and we all garden in the same region, perhaps you can share some gardening mistakes you've made so the rest of us can learn from them--particularly us beginners. I'll start:

I was told that you can completely mow down "monkey grass" in the early spring to clean up the overgrown and unsightly grass. Supposedly, within a few weeks, small green shoots will poke through the center and then grow up and cover the crew-cut trimmings. I did this to my entire yard. I did not realize, however, that "monkey grass" is just a generic name and that there is Mondo grass and Liriope. The advice I followed applied strictly to Liriope, but I hacked down both my Liriope and my Mondo. So, now that summer is in full swing, my Liriope is enormous again, but my Mondo is still sporting the crew-cut. Yeah, it's growing back, but very slowly. Needless to say, the mistake was a learning experience since I didn't even know that I had two kinds of "monkey grass."

Comments (16)

• Frog_hollow_lady
    13 years ago

This is one of many...

I have two concrete pots on top of 8x8 post that our cattle gate is connected too....I have planted those pots for 3 years...yes every year within 2-3 months, you guessed it, they died...

then one day it hit me....dummy, the concrete is acidic...very acidic....

so I got the ladder and went for the pots, with GH plastic in hand...I removed all the soil, lined them with the plastic and put new soil in...added plants and woohoo, they grew...now if I can keep them watered...lol