Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessicab_23

First post, and I have a few questions!

JessicaB_23
12 years ago

Hello to everyone, I'm Jessica, I'm 23 and I live in Pelham. I'm hoping to have some fresh strawberries and blackberries sometime next summer, but I'm very new to growing veggies and fruits. I have a one year old and a hubby who both love these fruits, but I hate buying them in store and not knowing what was used on them, etc. My grandfather and I will be planting the big (And I do mean BIG) veggie garden in early spring, but I'm seeing that I should plant the two berries at all kinds of different times! So Help on that!

And I'm also having some trouble with my roses. I can take a picture to show what kind and the shape they are in if needed, but Gah! They just don't seem to be doing much blooming at all. I just got rid of the japanese beetles a few months ago, and thought that would perk them up and allow them to bloom. Any advice on rose care in AL?

Comments (8)

• JessicaB_23
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hmmm, I just realized I left an entire part out.. Sorry.
    I'm also planning to plant a flower bed, and hopefully with several different plants, so something will be blooming most of the year. I'm hoping that one or more of you can give me some suggestions on what plants would work well. Also some names of good flowering bushes (for in front of my high porch to kind of hide the underside) that do well in our climate. No need to worry about any of them being low maintenance or non-time consuming, I'm a stay at home mom so I have lots of time, and would love to participate in the plant trade next year if I can get some lovely plants going.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago