Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anaturelover

Scuppernongs

anaturelover
18 years ago

I have three scuppernongs which for the first time have a lot of fruit on them. There is a lot of the fruit falling off before it is ripe. I did not spray or anything and I can't see anything wrong with the fruit, like worms or anything. This is my first attempt at growing them. Is there something I should have done? I hate to see all the fruit on the ground.

Comments (10)

• WannaBGardener
    18 years ago

Must say, I thought you were a "prank" poster, till I did a Google. Dang if it isn't a grape. Sorry I am no help, but did get an education about the Scuppedrnong.

• BDnBAMA
    18 years ago

anaturelover, I have Scuppernong vines & I always lose some before they begin to ripen. I have no idea why but even though some fall there is always plenty at picking time. I have always thought that some were knocked off by the birds. Betty

• anaturelover
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks to all the info. on scuppernongs. FYI, it is a muscadine and not a grape like some folks think. I'll not worry about some fruit falling off.

• WannaBGardener
    18 years ago

not to be arguementive, but Google says that Scuppernongs are Muscadine GRAPES. I planted a vine of Muscadine in our Alabama garden and it has leaves like a grape and vines like a grape, and the nursery man sold it to me as a grape. (however it has not produced any fruit yet) Guess it turns out that I have a Scuppernon. LOL

• BDnBAMA
    18 years ago