Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbranch_gw

Maple Trees

jbranch
15 years ago

Was looking through this selection of photos and was admiring how handsome the maple trees are. I don't know anything about them, but was interested in adding a few to my yard. Are maple trees easy to grow in zone 7B?

Jeff

http://www.growsonyou.com/photo/slideshow/6960-acer-combo/member/dansgrdn

Comments (9)

• ourhighlandhome
    15 years ago

Hi Jeff!

Although I am by NO means an expert on acer palmatums/japonicums, I have about 10-15 different species currently growing in my yard, about half of which are in containers. Most are easy and very gratifying if you'll meet a couple of specific needs.

Despite what you might read or be told by some suppliers, it is my opinion that they all appreciate at least a little shade in Zone 7b, and most more than others. They are best grown in moist, well-drained soil, and do not need or particularly desire feeding or fertilizing. A light application of time-released plant food in spring won't hurt but, again, isn't necessary.

Again in my opinion, you can meet light and moisture requirements and still have a raggedy-looking tree by summer's end, simply because of the heat in our zone. For example, most of my trees were looking fairly decent until we started experiencing temperatures in the high 90's for an extended period of time this summer. Those in cooler parts of the yard faired much better than those in hot spots, some of whose leaves were scorched or lost. If you sight containers on patios or a deck, the additional heat can cause real suffering, even during the mildest of summers, especially if grown in containers that absorb and/or retain too much heat.