Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idig

newbie question

idig
15 years ago

I was just reading over people's trade lists and saw one that says "please don't show up with things dug at the last minute and expect to trade for things I have been tending for months". Weelll, I am a newbie and intended to dig and divide after this rain tomorrow, which will be last minute, is that a problem for everyone?

Comments (9)

• pfllh
    15 years ago

I didn't see that but maybe can explain. Sometimes if dug at the last minute, night before swap, the plants are in shock and sometimes don't make it. If you dig Wed. leaving some dirt on the roots, pot up and put in shaded area and water good but not sloppy wet. Plants should be OK.
    You may want to write whoever wrote this.
    Lynn

• idig
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, I am just new to the swap and don't know the expectations. I will leave dirt on and pot in good soil and water with root stimulator to reduce shock. I don't have a swap with the person who wrote this and certainly don't blame them for wanting something equal to what they have to offer, I just thought I better make sure what is expected. Thanks for the reply! Shana

• pfllh
    15 years ago

Shana, perhaps I can explain a little more. Some plants are very hard to transplant. Out of a group, depending on how you do it, only a few survive. For me, I have to do alstromeria way in advance. They do not like disturbed at all. Other plants are just as touchy.
    Don't worry about it as you'll learn as you go.
    Lynn

• tedevore
    15 years ago

I have had to dig and pot up stuff at the last minute (although I try not to)
    and some things I have brought looked droopy, but I don't think anybody has really minded--we all trade good plants, and many us of don't care as much