Return to the Alabama Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to cut banana trees?

Posted by raestr z8 Central Ala (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 6, 05 at 13:08

This is my first year growing bananas. I bought one at HD this year for $13.99. It has green and purple leaves. It has done superbly and is now taller than the roof of my single floor 1970s ranch house and has several pups. When do I cut the stalks down (or do I) and what do I mulch it with? Can I just put a bunch of oak leaves over it? I have plenty of those.

Thanks,
Rae

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to cut banana trees?

Rae,

Watch out! Growing banana plants is very addicting.

You should really go over to the Banana forum for info from the experts (some of them are here also!) My advice is to do nothing until the real cold comes. When the leaves die, cut it down and mulch heavily (I like cedar). It will come back with a vengeance in the spring. Or you could overwinter it if you have a good sized, dry basement where you can store it with the leaves cut off. There are ways to overwinter in the ground also.

I would first dig up the pups and pot them for inside, then plant them outside next year. You will quickly have more banana plants than you can imagine!

Search in the banana forum for "overwinter" and "separate pups" and you will get all the information you need.

Here is a link that might be useful: Banana Forum

o

I never cut them until after the first frost has turned the leaves brown. Then I cut them back to a few inches tall, build a wire fence around them and fill the fence with chopped leaves. Usually by March they begin to shoot up through the leaves.

o

• Posted by GAAlan z8 Atlanta (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 18, 05 at 17:15