Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hello459_gw

Alabama Red Clay Soil

hello459
9 years ago

Hi I am new to gardening and want advice on how to amend the red clay soil that we have here in North Alabama. I started tilling and have put soil conditioner/manure I got at a hardware store but is there more that I can do? Is there any winter green manure I could grow now that will help break up the soil too? I hope to start planting a flower bed next spring. Thanks in advance!

Comments (11)

• alabamanicole
    9 years ago

Despite the bad rep, clay is very fertile and doesn't bother most plants. Most root vegetables will be problematic, but garlic doesn't care. Neither will most of the popular perennials. (We hate red clay because it stains everything, but that's another story.)

Right now, I'd heavy mulch the beds you are improving with straw. Nasty old stuff from Halloween and Thanksgiving decorations is just fine. Chopped leaves will also work (no oak), just be sure it doesn't form a dense mat that repels water. The worms and microbes and other soil fauna will break most of it down over winter and into early spring and enrich the soil.

Over winter, I'd be sure the sits has drainage and you don't have water standing on top anywhere.

After you plant in the spring, also heavy mulch the bed with something like chunky wood chips. Clay retains soil moisture very well, but if it dries out all the way it is really hard to restore. The mulch will go a long way toward preventing that, and will slowly break down into the soil. Also, at the mulch-soil interface it will be very low in nitrogen which helps prevent weed seeds from sprouting but won't harm your plants.

• jcalhoun
    9 years ago

Pine straw is good but watch out for other straw such as hay due to seeds of weeds.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    9 years ago