Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzanneoswald

Need help starting a garden

suzanneoswald
15 years ago

I am relatively new to gardening, I've played around with a few tomatoes and beans in the past, but to no great success. Well, now with 5 children and a downturning economy I need and want to get into this seriously, but I really don't know how to start.

I have a 1 acre backyard and while I have no intentions of turning this all into a garden, there is plenty of room for a sizeable garden to get started. I have access to a tiller (several neighbors own them) and use of some slave labor (oh, sorry that should be child labor). I would love to be able to grow most, if not all of the basic vegetables we eat in this house (broccoli, tomatoes, potatoes, maybe corn, lettuce, cabbage, beans etc.)

I guess what I am looking for is a mentor, someone who would give advice about getting started, when to do what and how much, how to find resources etc. It looks to me that in AL I should be starting in Jan for things like cabbage and broccoli and sprouting plants. Maybe someone would be willing to trade emails as I get started this first year and help me get off to a good start. If not I will just pester the whole group and see what wisdom I can glean.

Suzanne Oswald

Comments (11)

• daffodillady
    15 years ago

I am not a gardening expert by any means, but there is a winter sowing forum on GardenWeb. It will be time to get started right after Christmas. There are several offers for free seeds, including vegetables. I tried it last year for the first time, and had good success, and a lot of fun. I am excited to WS again this year; although I will not be growing so many varieties of plants- I had a jungle last summer- LOL!! Feel free to contact me- I probably donÂt have the answers, but I will help you find them- LOL!!

Here is a link that might be useful: winter sowing info

• pfllh
    15 years ago