Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelpkutter

Moldy Soil Problem

kelpkutter
16 years ago

Hi Ya'll in the beautiful state of AL. I just moved here about 3 months ago. I'm looking forward to a longer growing season than WA state had to offer. I'm still learning the art of gardening, and I consider myself a novice. I started incubating some tomato seeds & squash seeds indoors about 2 weeks ago. I'm using egg crates with drainage holes,and organic soil. I'm concerned about the top of the soil in my egg crates. It's starting to get a bit moldy. Dose anyone know what I can do to keep the mold from growing? Will the mold hurt my young saplings? Am I watering the seeds and soil too much? Am I keeping my house too warm? I would really appreciate your input?

Comments (4)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago

Mold (OR algea) growing on top of potting medium can be caused by all of the things you mentioned, plus a few more reasons. Generally, however, it occurs when the mix is too slow-draining (fine texture causes this, as opposed to a coarse texture), is watered too requently, and/or there is not enough air circulation in the vicinity.

What color is the 'mold'? That'll help us decide just what it is.

Oftentimes, the conditions that allow for the growth of mold, mildew, or algea (which are not problems for your seedlings on their own) can also invite a real pathogen outbreak such as damping off. That's a fungal vascular disease that can wipe out a crop of seedlings. In other words, the kinds of stuff that begins to grow on the top of the potting mix is a warning that the conditions are present for real problems to occur.

Be sure to add plenty of perlite to your potting mix to assist in the porosity by improving the texture. Also, though seeds appreciate warmth during the germination process, they do much better in cooler temperatures once they've begun to grow. A small fan can add the required air circulation, if needed.

• tsmith2579
    16 years ago