Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wolverine1012

When do I start onion seed?

wolverine1012
11 years ago

OK, hoping the 3rd time's the charm, I'm going to try onions from seed again, but need some help. I've got several varieties: Courtland, Copra, and Gunnison. All are approx 100-105 days.

I've read that others start seed mid Jan to early Feb, but the 105 days would run out before the summer solstice when the onions begin the bulbing process. So, when to plant?

Also, as a related question, I've read that you subtract 10-15 days if using starts. Surely those are older than 10-15 days!! My onions made it 10-15 days in the past before they croaked, but they were only the size of blades of grass. What gives?

Comments (16)

• bakerhardwoods
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but I start onions now (early January). Seedlings always seem very small when I set them out, so I'm trying to give them time to grow more. I've never had a problem with maturity -- they start to fall over about the 4th of July.

• makalu_gw
    11 years ago

When I used to grow from seed, I'd plant the seeds right around the 15th of January. That gave them enough time to get established and start to thicken before I set them out in early April. I'd let them get to 3-4 inches tall inside in the flat and then give them a haircut to keep them at that height to keep them manageable.

I wouldn't worry too much on the days - the onions know when to bulb and I've never had them try to bulb early.

I've never had any luck at all from starts - I guess I got them too big or stressed them since they always bolted but they are definitely older than 15 days and I'd guess that the reason to say 10-15 days would be that the sets need a bunch of time to re-establish their roots before starting any top growth.

If your onions are coming up and only lasting a couple of weeks, I'd check your starting mix and moisture ... it sounds like they are damping off due to too much water.

• wolverine1012
    Original Author