Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elliosc

Garlic stunted growth and tops fallen over

elliosc
11 years ago

I'm new to gardening in the Houston area, and I'm having an issue with one of the two types of garlic I've planted. Didn't see anything when I searched, so hopefully this is not a repeated topic....

I planted Siberian (purple stripe) and Burgundy (creole silverskin) in October. Both supposedly do well here.

The Siberian was much slower to start growing, but has since put on great top growth. The Burgundy sprouted quickly after getting it from the grower, but after putting it into the ground, it grew for a few weeks and stopped. Stems were puny. By December, I noticed the stems falling over. Thought they were dying, so I gave up on them. But they stayed green and I finally decided to pull them. Tiny bulbs, but most seem to have split into a few cloves and they look fully matured.

Any idea why they matured so quickly? And is there any chance I could encourage these bulbs to sprout quickly and then re-plant them in a few weeks so that my money and efforts will not be totally wasted?

Only planting difference between the two is that I planted peas close to the Burgundy garlic. The Siberian is in its own area. It's not a shading issue, though, and I figured if anything, the peas would provide nitrogen.

Thoughts?

Comments (4)

• stevelau1911
    11 years ago

That sounds like a similar growth to whenever I plant garlic cloves in the spring. It may be that your soil was still too warm when you planted them so they decided to turn into bulbs without sending down roots and gaining size first. You can try breaking up the cloves and replanting them to see if they have any better results in the spring.

My guess is that you may need to provide artificial vernalization in the refrigerator for 2 months before planting them out by around December in order to have good results. You may also need garlic species that require less of a dormancy season.

• elliosc