Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macmanmatty2

Galic bulbs now??

macmanmatty2
17 years ago

Hello all, i'm kinda new to growing garlic and just recently found out that you should plant garlic in fall, but also heard that warmer zones like mine you can plant garlic in the spring. So I want to plant in the spring. My questions are where can I get some good varieties of garlic to plant now?? I looked at some of the stores but they all seem to be sold out. Are any stores with any garlic left that I can order now?? Does anybody have Any they would sell to me?? I have a few varieties that I am really looking for I really want to grow my own garlic and not use that stuff from the supermarket.

Comments (12)

• phantom_white
    17 years ago

You might want to post on the Trading forum if your looking for certain kinds of garlic. As for planting times, I'm not real sure. I planted my "grocery store" garlic in October, and it seems to beat the frost pretty well.

• villandry
    17 years ago

Sure you could plant garlic now...why not...see what happens. You will probably get smaller heads and/or be harvesting late but its worth giving it a try. Just looking at Seed Saver they are already taking orders for Fall '07. But, I noticed in the grocery store that all the heads of garlic are sprouting. It's that time of year. I see that a lot garlic is coming from China now. I wonder what varietal that is? The heads are big with very large cloves..give that a try. Although I am sure it's not organic but it was sprouting.

Cheers

• aka_peggy
    17 years ago

I waited till August to order my garlic and most places were already sold out. You don't say what type of garlic you're looking for. I've had good luck finding good locally grown garlic at the organic grocer. I don't know what kind of luck you'd have this time of year tho.

• lucifer53
    17 years ago