Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canuckistani

How early can you transplant onions and leeks??

canuckistani
15 years ago

I've seen really variable advice on how early you can transplant onions and leeks. Can they go out 1 or 2 months before the last frost?? I'm in Zone 5b. I plan on growing the seeds for at least 1 month...would prefer to put them out sooner rather than later so I have space for other plants.

Comments (8)

• megmaine
    15 years ago

I want to know this too! I started leeks from seed again, this time early enough to hopefully get full sized ones instead of the pencil-thin useless things I got the other year. I wonder also when to set them out, and also how much space they need, etc.
    I am planning to grow a few in my square foot garden, but most of them out on land with space for everything, in sort of French Intensive beds.

Any advice on leek growing in Maine or comparable climate is welcome

• david52 Zone 6
    15 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but I go by when the night time temps are consistently above 24ºF. Here, thats early April. Some years, I've had the tops brown off from a really hard freeze below 20ºF, but I've never lost any plants.

• canuckistani
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the info. I think grow my onions and leeks indoors for a month and then put them out around the end of March.

• indy76km
    15 years ago

MegMaine I am also in Maine! I will be growing onions from seeds for the first time. Haven't tried growing leeks yet but then again this is only my second year vegetable gardening. I would like to hear how it goes and maybe I will try them next year.

• caren-2009
    15 years ago