Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Using Fresh Garlic

Posted by homegardenpa PA Zone 6 (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 23, 11 at 13:45

Ok, so I'm totally new to growing garlic, but I've already reached some level of success in that I see all of the cloves (Siberian) I planted last fall popping through the mulch; Although, I was a little scared at first since there's still snow on the ground, but they seem to be fine somehow.

From what I've read and seen from grower's in my area, I should be able to harvest sometime around late June / July. My question is this:

Will I be able to use some of the garlic immediately or does it need to be 100% cured before it will be good to use?

If so, assuming a harvest date of early July, when would the earliest I could use the garlic?

Thanks in advance for any help here.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Using Fresh Garlic

"Will I be able to use some of the garlic immediately or does it need to be 100% cured before it will be good to use?"

You can use it immediately if you want. Curing is only done to make sure that it stores well.

"If so, assuming a harvest date of early July, when would the earliest I could use the garlic?"

As soon as you wash off the dirt.

o

Awesome, thanks so much for the reply. So far, I'm loving the process of growing garlic - and the fact that I can make use of my garden in the fall, winter, and very early spring when it would usually be barren. There's still some snow on the ground and I already see my garlic coming to life, it gives me delusions that may, just maybe, spring isn't too far off.

If my harvest is good, I'll add another variety or two to the list and start growing some onions as well. My understanding is that of garlic and onions, garlic is the easier one in my season / climate - so I wanted to start there first.

Thanks again.

o