Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roper2008

Long day or short day onion seeds?

roper2008
14 years ago

I am thinking of starting onion seeds and shallot seeds.

My zone is 8. I would like them to have good storage

also. When should I start them indoors? I have not

ordered any seeds yet, is it too late? Also, in Virginia

Beach, where I live, should it be long day or short day

onions.

Comments (6)

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

Probably it is late for starting from seeds at this time, in your zone, outside. Your best bet is to get "sets", sold at most nurseries, HDAlthough, you can start your seeds inside, to get a head start. I am not an onions experts by no means but to me yellow spanish/granex? has done well. I have still have some from last year.They were mostly small and medium, not very big.
    Red variety, on the other hand (don't know the variety) were bigger but did not store well.

• farmerdilla
    14 years ago

The safest bet for Virginia will be the intermediate day onions. I had good luck with Spanish types in southwest Virginia, but June and July there is much cooler than the tidewater area. Most storage onions are very long day and better suited for the northern part of the US. At this stage of the game, Your best bet will be to get plants either locally or from a vendor like Dixondale. The sets ( small dry bulbs) will be long day onions storage onions, but in Virginia are best for spring onions. They often do not bulb up well in the south.

• roper2008
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks farmerdilla. I will buy starts.

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

I don't know how much diffrence in day length will be, say, between Georgia and Connecticut?
    Or maybe it is the summer temperatures that decide what kind to plant???