Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
minze_gw

Garlic sprouting up

minze
15 years ago

This is my first attempt at growing garlic. The end of the season I planted the individual cloves after working the soil as directed by some of the sites I read.

the problem I am having is that now my garlic is sprouting. We've had some unseasonable warm weather here lately along with a decent amount of rain. We hit a record high of 68 degrees this month. The current temperature is now 44. It is expected to keep the warmer temperature for at least the next 10 days but some nights it is expected to drop below freezing.

I have shoots coming up, single stalks on more than half of what I planted. Some stalks are up to 4 inches while others are just starting to sprout. I'm looking for some ideas on how to protect the crop. I was thinking of just putting some clear plastic over the area on stakes to create a small greenhouse tent over the growth. Ideas...suggestions?

thanks!

Comments (7)

• bloosquall
    15 years ago

Minze,

Don't get too excited about the garlic coming up, Garlic is really tough...the first shoot can freeze off and die without it hurting anything. This is normal. find some straw and cover the ground if your really worried about it.

bloosqualls garlic farm
    15,600 in the ground this year.

• minze
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks. I'll give it a bit of cover and keep an eye out.

• weedpatcher
    15 years ago

Minze--

I hadn't even been out to my garden until this morning and I also noticed my garlic was sprouting, too! Thanks for posting this--I was a bit worried because it froze and snowed here last night. Mine are already under a huge heap of mulch to keep them protected, but I didn't expect them so early.

This is also my first attempt at garlic. I planted German Extra Hardy and all 16 are there! Woohoo! I am a bit excited that I did it right.

Bloosquall--thanks for the info!

• wcthomas
    15 years ago