Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ailidespain

Advice needed on when to pot up onion seedlings

AiliDeSpain
11 years ago

Hello everyone,
This is my first time growing onions from seed and I started them (redwing hybrid)two weeks ago. They have been up for about a week and are under lights.
My question is when do I pot up and what size pot do you recommend as well as what type of soil. My compost is currently frozen so that is not an option. haha.

Comments (13)

• planatus
    11 years ago

I pull out excess seedlings to thin them, but wait until the seedlings have three leaves to transplant them to roomier quarters. The first leaf withers pretty early and I snip it off. I also keep the seedlings trimmed back to 3-4 inches, which helps them grow stockier, with better light penetration. I don't want to have to pot them up but once since it's so time-consuming.

I had to pot up artichoke seedlings last week, and I had already oven-processed some old potting soil to use, then dumped it in a bucket that froze hard outside. Set next to the wood stove, it took that bucket 18 hours to thaw!

• Mark
    11 years ago

Good advice by Planatus. My question is do you really need to pot them up? Could you grow them in the soil you germinated in until they are ready to go in the ground? Thats how I do it with only some fish emulsion for extra nitrogen now and again.

If you need to pot up, my simple and cheap soil recipe is sifted compost, peat moss and sand. About a 8:2:1 ratio.

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I thought you had to pot up because seed stater mix doesn't have enough nutrients.

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I thought you had to pot up because seed stater mix doesn't have enough nutrients.

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    11 years ago

• AiliDeSpain
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry about the duplicate posts I'm posting from mt phone

• Mark
    11 years ago