Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What can I do to increase bulb size of garlic?

Posted by obrionusa 5 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 27, 11 at 6:09

This is my first attempt to planting garlic. Well last fall I ordered four varieties off of Bloosqualls farms. He had very nice sized bulbs except for the Chesnok red. Then I ended up with a trade and got Inchelium Red and Killanery, Those are also pretty small cloves. So Is there anything I can do to help bring these smaller garlics up to a nicer sized bulb to replant this fall? I planted (Indianapolis area) somewhere around first of November, I'm not far from Detroit and Chicago to give you an idea.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What can I do to increase bulb size of garlic?

This is my 3rd year growing garlics and still learning.
From what I have read here on GW, you shoul always plant the larger cloves, and use the inner small cloves for cooking. Small cloves will produce smaller garlics and might even produce a round single clove garlic.
But other than the seeds, certain growing conditions and care can make a difference in garlic size. Also the variety is another factor.
So, here I am. I also want to know how to grow bigger garlics.

o

The best advice I can give is that you browse the many pages of information in this forum. There are many experienced growers who contribute here. (Repeating everything umpty-jillion times gets old.)

o

The most important growth period for garlic is between the time it pops up in spring and the summer solstice. This time period gets shorter and shorter the farther north that one grows garlic. You want the garlic to grow as many leaves as possible during this period. The more leaves, the larger the bulb. Good compost, adequate water, and regular feedings of nitrogen (urea) are generally required to get decent-sized garlic in the north.

o