Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Purple globe allium

Posted by baunlee 10 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 13, 14 at 1:25

Hello I am new to gardenweb and I have a lot to learn! I have my first flower garden this year in my first home. I always loved and admired the long plants with the purple bulbs on top. Last time I was at my moms she had a plant catalog brecks or something...and it had those! Only they wanted $24.00 a bulb?!? They were called beau regard allium. They also had a giant allium mixture for $10 with 6 bulbs.

I don't have a lot of money to spend on the garden and I've planted most things from seed in my sunroom. Before spending money on these I thought it would be wise to ask the gardenweb pros if it's a good price and if not where else can I get them? Additionally if anyone has extra bulbs please let me know as they will be well loved and adored! Thanks for any advice in advance :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Purple globe allium

I like Brent and Becky's Bulbs. They run two seasons, one for cool-season bulbs planted in fall (alliums are in this group) and warm-season summer bulbs. Late in each season, they have a sale of whatever is left.

That said, you may find these bulbs at a good price in the fall in retail stores.

I would grow these in groups of the same type so you get an orderly stand. Mixing them won't be as pleasing to the eye.

o
RE: Purple globe allium