Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacs_of_may

Spanish Roja a no show

lilacs_of_may
15 years ago

I planted four bulbs of Spanish Roja in four different places in my garden. In a couple of the spots, the Spanish Roja simply never came up, even when other varieties right next to them popped up fine. In a couple other spots, they were fine.

A couple other varieties also had no shows -- Music Pink, Polish Hardneck, and Carpathian. Are these "sensitive" varieties, or are they simply much slower to pop up in spring? All the other varieties are doing fine. Some are doing great (e.g., Blossom, Georgia Crystal, Lotus, and Transylvanian).

This is my first time planting almost all of these varieties.

Comments (13)

• makalu_gw
    15 years ago

I always had a lot of winter kill with Music - somewhere in the 20% range so there was something it didn't like in my garden conditions. Carpathian is just really slow ... versus something like Georgian Crystal the Carpathian came up around 3 weeks later and stayed behind all season coming in as the last one to harvest.

• penguingardener
    15 years ago

Hmm, I haven't looked closely, but I didn't notice any no-shows for me. Spanish Roja did well for me last year. You now have me wanting to pull out my little map and double check my garlic when I get home.

I do remember last year, all of my garlic came up. I'll post a follow-up my results.

• penguingardener
    15 years ago

All of my Spanish Roja has come up. They do seem to be the smaller plants however.

• lythir
    15 years ago

My Spanish Roja took longer to come up, and the plants are smaller, but then the other one I am growing is Music, which seems to be big and hardy for everyone.

• lilacs_of_may
    Original Author
    15 years ago