Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bart1_gw

How to fertilize onions at planting time??

bart1
15 years ago

I received my order of onion plants from Dixiondale yesterday and this is my first attempt at planting them and I'm a little confused.

In the planting guide that was supplied they say to "make a trench in the center of the bed 4" deep and distribute the fertilizer in the trench. Then cover the fertilizer with 2" of soil and plant the transplants 6" from the trench. Do not plant the transplants in the trench!"

I called Dixondale to ask about this because I inteneded to plant one long row of onions instead of 2 rows on either side of the trench. The woman I spoke to said that she's been telling people to put the fertilizer in the trench, partially fill it with soil and then plant the onion plants in the trench. She said she's been giving this adivice for 10 years with no complaints but she also said that the growing guide was reworked for this year.

So my question is, where do I put the fertilizer, below the plants or next to the plants? Also, is there anything wrong with planting one long row as opposed to many shorter rows?

Thanks!

Bart

Comments (13)

• wcthomas
    15 years ago

Hi Bart,

The general rule is that the fertilizer should not come in contact with the plant or roots so as to not burn the plant. This, however, depends on the type, quantity and strength of the fertilizer. Light applications of organic or slow release fertilizers are less likely to burn than say a strong, fast release lawn fertilizer.

In your case with a single row of onions, I would sprinkle the fertilizer on both sides of the row and rake it into the top inch or two. No problem with a single row - I often plant a single row around my garden border.

TomNJ

• bart1
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Tom!

I re-read the instructions and picked up some fertilizer at lunch and now I have a few more questions.