Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wcthomas_gw

Holy Leaping Onions Batman!

wcthomas
15 years ago

I've been growing onions for over 30 years, but this one is new on me.

A couple of days after planting my main onion bed, I went out to check on them and found half a dozen plants (out of 270) had "leaped" out of their holes and were lying close by. I assumed the rain the day before was somehow responsible, so I just stuck them back in the ground.

It rained again yesterday so I checked on the little fellas today, and lo & behold another 10 had tried to escape! They appeared undamaged, no nibbles on the greens or footprints in the bed, so I'm thinking it's not animals, but what could it be? They didn't just fall over - they were fully out of the ground and lying flat, some 6" away from their holes. My other onion beds are fine, just this one location has the problem.

Either there is some light-footed critter having fun with me or these onion plants think they can fly. Any ideas on what's going on here?

TomNJ

Comments (20)

• TJG911
    15 years ago

crows pull out corn plants to eat the seed. crows are curious and smart but i'd assume they would leave onions alone.

what about a vole or mole? i doubt they'd pick on just 6 out of 270 but i wonder if they'd push them out due to the smell. does it look like something pushed the soil up from below?

this is a good one and i'd be curious to know what is happening. are you sure there are no foot prints?

maybe other bird? the damned finches peck the crap out of my broccoli heads. they started this 3 seasons ago and never touched it prior to that. it is so bad i have to cover the plants to stop them. i made a pcv cage and drape bird netting over it. it is a pain but it works.

tom

• wcthomas
    Original Author
    15 years ago