Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunnibel7

Garlic rotting in ground, blame winter?

sunnibel7 Md 7
11 years ago

I've been growing garlic for several years and not had this problem before. The plants were beautiful in early spring, which was early and hot. Then there was a cold snap and it burned the tips of several leaves on each plant. Now about a third of the plants are rotting and when I checked the base of the healthier looking ones, they look to be having trouble too.

Could my garlic be having trouble because the winter was so warm? I have read that it doesn't do well in areas that are too warm in winter, but I don't know what form that trouble takes. I tried looking online to find a disease, but it doesn't look quite like any of the rots I could find picturs of. My soil is fast draining and we're behind on rain anyway, so I don't think it is a problem of excessive moisture. Any other ideas or should I blame this problem, too, on the crazy weather? Cheers!

Comments (8)

• stevelau1911
    11 years ago

I've found that the garlic that has rotted for me has been solely the hardnecks which were in poorly drained soil, so the moisture must have rotted them down.

The artichoke softneck species almost never rot or have any fungal diseases. I guess you must be planting hardnecks eh? One solution may be to simply grow them a bit earlier so that the roots can take hold as quick as possible, and growing a variety of species should help as some types don't rot.

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Steve, thanks for your input! But, no, I'm growing two types of soft necks as well as two types of hardnecks. One of the softnecks is the type that seems most affected, new garlic fromTerritorial, but they are all looking sad now. One type I have been propegating for 5-6 years now. Cheers.

• Mariekoran
    11 years ago