Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
exmar

Scapes already?

Hi Folks,

I tried posting this question a couple days ago in the "vegetable garden forum" and it never appeared, then I recalled there was a separate "Allium forum."

While planting tomatoes, peppers, etc. Saturday, I noticed the garlic had scapes that needed to be removed? Hmmm, that's about 6 weeks to a month early in my experience. Oh, French Music, and I've been growing it for about ten years with very good results. Also noticed that the tips of the leaves were turning brown. Didn't particuarly strike me at the time as we've had a very, very wet fall, winter, and spring so leaching of soil nutrients is to be expected. OK, gotta get some fertilize on them.

Thinking about it later, I'm now wondering if the early onset of scapes and the browning of leaf tips are a signal that the bulbs are maturing very early this year? Admittedly, we didn't really have a winter here in SE Ohio.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Yes, I know that peppers, tomatoes, etc. were planted about three weeks ahead of last frost date, but it seems to be a very early and mild spring. e.g. I've been cutting grass since the end of march which is relatively unheard of here.

Thanks for your time,

Ev

Comments (13)

• scooter70
    11 years ago

Yes, i am experiencing this as well, early scapes & slightly browning tips. Fertilized bout a month ago, was going to hit them again today, hopefully it is not too late to do any good. I also have raspberries forming early.
    I also wonder when the garlic will be ready this year, it has been the first week in July the past 3 but, it did seem like an awfully warm winter. The harvest window is so small i suppose i will simply do what i did last year when it was so wet...dig up bulbs daily to check on them.
    I have also read "Growing Great Garlic", 12 years ago, but never ended up growing at that time...only took 9 years...i only wish i could find the box it i put it in.