Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nhsuzanne_gw

Newbie at garlic question

nhsuzanne
15 years ago

I have been reading the garlic growing posts here and there is such a lot of good information. The one thing I haven't quite figured out yet is - if I plant my garlic in the fall (October for my zone 5) - when do I buy my seeds?

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• bloosquall
    15 years ago

Suzanne, You can buy your bulbs any time this summer after say July 15, The big seed stores start shipping in September. if there is a certain variety you want you better place an order for it right now if going through one of the big boys. I would start looking of for it in Sept if you can find it at your local farmers market.

Travis

• nhsuzanne
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Bloosquall, I just visited your nice site. I am learning much about growing garlic. I like the idea of being able to get a sample package from you because as a newbie I want to try all kinds.

Another question - if I plant garlic in October when will I harvest it? I am trying to figure out if I can use the bed for summer crops after I harvest the garlic or if I need a bed/space dedicated to garlic only.

• bloosquall
    15 years ago

Suzanne,

Planted in EARLY October in zone 5, harvest should be near July 1 to 10. Yes, I can do a sample pack that will grow well for you up north. I grow garlic mostly for seed stock but there are always a few that don't measure up and get sold for eating.

I believe a garlic bed should be rotated at least every other year if not every third year. I use a green manure crop (clover, peas and rye) in the off year. I'm guessing you have limited space at your location so yes I believe you could work the soil up after harvest and plant something else.

The ideal plan would be to have at least three beds and rotate them for your garlic...this year garlic, next year ??? then garlic again. I'll try to answer any questions you have with your new venture.

• lilacs_of_may
    15 years ago