Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to harvest Garlic?

Posted by goddessemer6 z9a NV (My Page) on
Thu, May 4, 06 at 16:23

This is my first year growing garlic and now that they're growing nicely I'm concerned about the next step...harvesting. How do I do it? They're just run of the mill soft neck garlic from the grocery store so they most likely don't need anything special, right? Also I think I read somewhere that the perfect allium has 13 leaves and that counting the leaves can help indicate when to harvest? Is this Truth or Fiction? Thanks for any input!

~Rose

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to harvest Garlic?

One leaf per division. There is nothing special about the number 13.

Harvest when the green growth stops and the green starts turning brown or it starts limping out and falling over.

As long as there is erect, green growth the green is feeding energy to the garlic cloves. As soon as the leaves begin to show signs of 'petering out' the leaves are not feeding the bulbs any longer and are dying. This is when to harvest garlic.

There is no harm in harvesting early, the garlic is still edible and will taste the same, it simply hasn't grown as large as it can yet.

o

One leaf per division? As in the number of cloves the bulb is divided into? If my interpretation of what you're saying is correct, it's BS.
My siberian will only make about seven cloves per bulb, but has MANY leaves, as in twenty or so...
The rest of your post I have no problem with, but unless I completely misread about the number of leaves...?????

o

I could well be wrong, but as I understand it each clove is it's own plant and will send up it's own greenery to feed itself. I believe the number of leaves on an onion is proportional to the number of rings as well.

I never counted so I can't say for sure, but this is what I heard and it makes sense. Could be wrong though.

o