Return to the Allium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Garlic is sending up scapes!

Posted by glane1219 northern OK. (My Page) on
Mon, May 2, 05 at 19:41

Hi, Went looking at the garlic and onions today. Both the Elephant and Maitake Garlic is just starting to send up scapes here, and digging down to check on the progress of the bulbs show the maitake to already be sizeing up nicely.
Now comes the waiting to harvest.
Gary

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Garlic is sending up scapes!

Removing the scapes is important at this time.

o

Yes, I admit that I am new to garlic....What are scrapes,Is it possibly a roundish thick "stem" coming up from the bulb. Boy do I feel foolish......Heidi

o

Yes it is . It is best to wait for it to start curling before breaking it off . I break mine when they look like shepherd hooks and not completely curled.

o

Do you cut the scapes at the top by the flower or at the bottom?

o

Cut the scapes where it meets the top leaves. Douing so, will send energy back to growing the bulb.
If you don't cut the scape off, the bulb will be about a third of the size it could be.
BTW, you can cook the scape! Depending on the varietie, the flavor could be as strong as a clove it's self.

o