Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
venusruiz

Is my Garlic ready yet? (pics)

venusruiz
11 years ago

Hi, please help me out, are they ready to be pulled? I cut the scapes like 10 days ago and as you can see in the pics the bottom leaf is dry out. They are German Porcelain (Northern White), ROCAMBO garlic.

Thanks so much,

Maria

{{gwi:363494}}

{{gwi:363495}}

{{gwi:363496}}

Comments (10)

• Mark
    11 years ago

No, they are not ready unless you like small garlic, but you're almost there. Wait till they are about half yellowed and don't give them any water till then. :)

• jolj
    11 years ago

madroneb, this is my first year.
    Why not water? I am in sandy soil & water my garlic twice a week.

• emcd124
    11 years ago

I've only grown garlic for two years now, but the advice I got when I first started was not to water garlic at all after May, and to think about harvesting it around Mid June, if it had half or more of the leaves brown and flopping over (looking almost dead!). And that has served me well. My understanding is that if you water garlic too much as it reaches maturity, you have a greater chance of rot or fungus that harms the bulb.

• riverkeeper
    11 years ago

When to harvest garlic varies greatly by climate, seasonal weather, soil moisture and garlic variety....probably more issues. There all kinds of differing web advice .... Some of it very very bad...I learned that the hard way more than once. General advice like.. Waiting till they fall over is marginally ok for artichokes but worthless if storage to 10 to 12 months is desired for the varieties capable of it.