Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener_deebs

Success with onion seeds

gardener_deebs
13 years ago

I tried my hand at growing onions from seed last year and failed miserably. I direct seeded, and by the time they came up, some out of control tomato plants were blocking most of their light. Eventually, they just died. It's incredibly disappointing to to have wonderful heirloom seeds - in this case, Rossa di Milano red globe onions - and waste their potential due to lack of planning and knowledge.

So this year, I boned up on onion growing, grew the leftover seeds under lights, and planted them in full, unobstructed sun. I planted out 2 weeks ago, and they've now doubled in size. I think they're so beautiful, I just had to share!

{{gwi:363609}}

Comments (11)

• heirloomjunkie
    13 years ago

Nice onion!

This is my first year growing from seed. I started with regular bunching onions, and am amazed how slowly they grow in general. My tomato and pepper plants are growing inches every night, and the little onions are still chillin' doing practically nothing. But another month may make a difference.

Kim

• mom2ems
    13 years ago

That is a beautiful onion plant!! I hope they continue to grow for you and you have no troubles later in the season :o)

Catherine

• curt_grow
    13 years ago

I find onions and leeks the most fun to grow from seed. I really think it is because they are slow growing. I fuss over them for months. Mine were started the first week of February and here it is May and I am still fussing, Ha ha. This is the year of the Allium in my garden. Whats that, well experiment time, different seed starting with different onions. Different plan spacings in the garden. Winter sowing of different cultivars. Timing of starts and all the fun that goes with all that. Two garlic types 2 leek types 4 onion types and one bunching onion type . I have some loss of course, but no shortage of onion!