Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
defigart

When to plant onions.

defigart
11 years ago

I am new to onions, but not to gardening.

When should I start the following onions seeds. (I realize I may be to late this year)

Copra

Red Zepplin

Sweet Spanish

Comments (10)

• farmerdill
    11 years ago

Unless you are in the Pacific Northwest, Those are not suited for Z8b. They are long day onions. In Z8b deep south USA, short day onions are seeded in September - October.

• defigart
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I am in Washington State. Just about 45 minutes north of the 45o parallel.

• farmerdill
    11 years ago

I have no experience in your climate. The Pacific Norhtwest Gardening specifies " as soon as the ground can be worked" which means as soon as it dries out a bit after the spring thaw.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pacific Northwest onions

• defigart
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Awesome. Thanks for the link. I learned a lot from it.

Anyone with experience, ever tried overwintering any of these onions?

• Mark
    11 years ago

I'm in NW Oregon so a fairly similar climate to yours.
    I start seeding my summer onions feb. 1st in the hoop house.

Trust me on this one, it's coming from 16 years experience growing onions (and other veg) for my living. If you want to overwinter onions, stick with those developed and tested for it.
    Long day onions will all most likely bolt on the second year. Thats a lot of energy to keep them weeded all winter and spring just to harvest a green onion.

Even on good years, lots of my overwinters bolt due to conditions beyond my control. My Walla's almost all went to crap this year. Probably due to the warm spell last month.

• farmerdill
    11 years ago

defigart. Osborne seed trials in Skagit County and reports good results over wintering Desert Sunrise.
    "Overwintering Onions- a new red!